Is Mayo Really Gluten-Free?

is best foods mayonnaise gluten-free uk

Yellowish-white mayo with a thick texture is one of the most versatile spreads for some foods around the world. Usually, they’re served with sandwiches or used as the basic ingredients of salad dressings out there. Although mayo is made from simple ingredients that look healthy, you may be wondering if it’s safe to consume on a gluten-free diet?

Is Mayo Gluten-Free?

Before concluding your mayo is gluten-free or not, you need to know the basic ingredients of mayo first. Generally, mayo is a blended emulsion of egg yolk, oil, flavored vinegar, or pure vinegar and some additional ingredients like sea salt, Dijon mustard, or white pepper.

In addition, the types of oils used to make mayo can also vary like canola, grape seeds, avocados, or olive oil. These ingredients look healthy, but you can’t assume your mayo is safe to eat.

So when it comes to Gluten, it’s a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale. They act as glues that help food stick and maintain the texture of the food. When you mix flour with water, gluten protein forms sticky tissues like glue.

This glue-like property makes the dough elastic, makes the bread expand when baked, and gives it a chewy texture. Most people may not have problems when digesting gluten. But for some people, gluten can cause a variety of health problems.

In fact, there are many wheat-free mayo, rye, or barley because they’re usually made from egg yolks or whole eggs, oils, and vinegar. Eggs or oils may not cause problems for a gluten-free diet, but you should be wary of flavored vinegar as it may contain malt. It’s a barley-derived ingredient that’s not gluten-free.

Related: Health Benefits of Fiber in Avocados

How to Find Gluten-Free Mayo?

The easiest way to find out your mayonnaise is gluten-free is to read the label. Before buying gluten-free mayo, make sure your mayo bottle includes labels like Gluten-Free, No Gluten, Free of Gluten, Without Gluten, or Certified Gluten-Free on each package.

If you see one of these labels on the bottle, you can take it home. But not all mayoes include gluten-free labels even though they’re gluten-free. To find out, check the list of ingredients on the bottle to see if it contains wheat or gluten-based.

To make it easier for you to choose the best mayonnaise, some of the mayo brands below are known to sell gluten-free options. But some brands contain gluten and some don’t, so take your time to carefully read the ingredient list from each bottle before deciding to buy it.

  • Sir Kensington’s Avocado Oil Mayonnaise.
  • Chosen Foods Classic Avocado Oil Mayo.
  • Primal Kitchen Mayo With Avocado.
  • Follow Your Heart Vegenaise.
  • Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaise.
  • Blue Plate Real Mayonnaise.
  • Trader Joe’s Mayonnaise.
  • Spectrum Mayonnaise.
  • Duke’s Mayonnaise.
  • Heinz Mayonnaise.
  • Kraft Miracle Whip.

Related: Are Pancakes Healthy for a Diet?

Is Mayo Safe to Eat When You Follow a Gluten-Free Diet?

If you have health problems such as celiac disease or have gluten sensitivity, you should avoid wheat, barley, rye, or other gluten-based foods. When it comes to mayonnaise, is someone who is following a gluten-free diet safe to consume?

So basically, the basic ingredients used to make true mayo do not contain gluten. It’s a whole egg or egg yolk, oil, and pure vinegar, as I have mentioned. Therefore, true mayo is actually safe for people who follow a gluten-free diet.

But it can be unsuitable for them if added ingredients are derived from products containing gluten. In addition, the risk of cross-contamination with gluten during production can also result in the presence of gluten in mayo.

Related: 4 Simple Healthy Breakfast for a Teenager

Gluten-Free Homemade Mayo Recipe.

If you want to make sure your mayonnaise is gluten-free instead of buying from the store, you can make homemade mayonnaise with natural ingredients.

Ingredients.

  • 1 large egg.
  • 1 cup of mild-flavored oil.
  • 1 tbsp of vinegar.
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice.
  • ΒΌ tsp of salt.

Optional Ingredients.

  • Black or white pepper.
  • Dijon mustard.
  • Mustard or celery seeds.
  • A pinch of sugar.

Directions.

  1. Prepare a small food processor, add eggs to it, then blend for about half a minute. Next, add the salt and vinegar and blend again for another half minute.
  2. Now blend in the oil a few drops at a time to make your mayo thicken properly. Stir in the lemon juice, then add any optional ingredients you want.
  3. Avoid using rice or malt vinegar, as they may contain gluten or have been cross-contaminated.
  4. Store your homemade mayo in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

Related: The Best Weight Loss Magic Soup Recipes

Takeaway.

If you are following a gluten-free diet, you should avoid gluten-based foods like wheat, rye, barley, beer, or pasta. Also as already mentioned, some people may not have problems digesting gluten. But for some people who have health problems like gluten intolerance, it can be a problem.

So, if you like to spread mayonnaise on a sandwich or use it as a base for salad dressings, now you have a great selection of gluten-free mayo out there. But you should check the label or ingredient list on the bottle because not all products include gluten-free labels even though the mayo is gluten-free.

If you want to make sure your mayonnaise is completely gluten-free, you can make it a homemade mayo with some simple ingredients as a safe gluten-free option.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*